GMA Awards

Our members enhance the lives of consumers with nutritious, convenient and affordable food products. GMA strives to recognize the work they do to advance the industry and serve consumers. Each year, GMA honors exemplary accomplishment and service in the field of consumer packaged goods.

GMA Food Safety Award

The GMA Food Safety Award honors those individuals or organizations who have demonstrated a longstanding commitment to improving the safety of food.

The recipient of this award must possess at least 10 years of service in the food safety arena and have successfully demonstrated sustained contributions in research, education and information transfer. In addition, the recipient must display innovative and effective strategies to promote a safer food supply while solving significant food safety problems.

For questions contact Karina Martino at To apply visit IAFP awards website at:

Contact: Karina Martino,

CPG Award for Innovation and Creativity

The CPG Award for Innovation and Creativity is given annually by GMA's Associate Member Council to recognize the innovation that occurs every day at GMA member companies. The award allows for the broad submission by manufacturer members of innovative ideas, with an emphasis on leading the industry forward in the 21st Century. Submissions will be judged by AMC members on creativity, willingness to take risks, achieving measurable results and creating a valuable knowledge base for the entire industry.

Sample innovative categories include:

  • Collaborating with Trading Partners
  • Product Development
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Supply Chain Improvement
  • Manufacturing Excellence
  • Productivity Improvement
  • Environmental Sustainability 
  • Use of New Technology
  • Product Reformulation

GMA annually honors two members with CPG Awards. Applications are evaluated in two divisions, with one award given in each:

  • Division A: Manufacturers with total sales below $3 billion
  • Division B: Manufacturers with total sales of $3 billion and above
Past Winners
Year Winner


PepsiCo and MegaMex Foods


Hormel Foods and Nando’s Peri-Peri


McCormick and Company and Pinnacle Foods

Coca-Cola and E. & J. Gallo Winery

2014 Big Heart Pet Brands and PepsiCo
2013 E. & J Gallo and Campbell Soup Company
2012 E. & J Gallo and PepsiCo, Inc.
2011 BatterBlaster and General Mills Inc.
2010 Diamond Foods, Inc. and Henkel Consumer Goods
2009 The Hershey Company
2008 The Clorox Company and Kettle Foods, Inc.
2007 Unilever
2006 Time Inc. Retail
2005 Campbell Soup Company
2004 Kraft Foods, Inc.

Contact: Larry Gray,

GMA Excellence in State Government Affairs Award

The Excellence in State Government Affairs Award is presented each year to an outstanding state association executive in recognition of their partnership with GMA to advance public policy initiatives in state and local jurisdictions that benefit the consumer product manufacturers and retailers alike.

Contact: GMA Information,

GMA Hall of Achievement

For more than two decades, the GMA Hall of Achievement Award has recognized the service and extraordinary contributions of distinguished CPG industry leaders. The award is presented annually at the Executive Conference.

Members of the Hall of Achievement
Year Winner
Irene Rosenfeld, Chairman and CEO, Mondelēz International, Inc.
Fred Morganthall, Executive Vice President of The Kroger Co.; President of Harris Teeter
Ken Powell, President and CEO, General Mills
Bob Mariano, Chairman, President and CEO, Roundy's, Inc.
Ed Crenshaw, CEO, Publix Super Markets Inc.

George Deese, Chairman of the Board, Flowers Food
Greg Wasson,  Former President and CEO, Walgreens

Michael T. Duke, Former President and CEO, Walmart, Inc.
Timothy Smucker, Chairman of the Board, The J. M. Smucker Company
Daniel Wegman, Chief Executive Officer, Wegmans Food Markets
Richard Jurgens, Chairman and CEO of Hy-Vee, Inc.
Dean Pappas, CEO of Clement Pappas and Company, Inc.


Douglas R. Conant, Former President and CEO, Campbell Soup Company

Richard G. Wolford, Former Chairman, President and CEO, Del Monte Foods


A.G. Lafley, Former Chairman, President and CEO, The Procter & Gamble Company


Jeffrey Noddle, Executive Chairman of the Board, SUPERVALU INC.

Robert E. Rich, Jr., Chairman, Rich Products Corporation


Robert J. Lawless, Chairman of the Board, McCormick & Company, Inc.

Richard Lenny, Former Chairman, President and CEO, The Hershey Company

J. Douglas Quick, Chairman of the Board, Lakeside Foods, Inc.

Stephen W. Sanger, Former Chairman and CEO, General Mills, Inc.


James M. Kilts, Founding Partner, Centerview Partners, Former Chairman, President and CEO, The Gillette Company


C. Manly Molpus, President and CEO, Grocery Manufacturers Association


Thomas Haggai, Chairman and CEO, Independent Grocers Alliance Inc. (IGA)


Joseph Pichler, Chairman, The Kroger Co.


(Award not given)


Richard Shoemate, Chairman and CEO, Bestfoods


John H. Bryan, Chairman and CEO, Sara Lee Corporation


William Wrigley, Chairman and CEO, Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company


Paul Smucker, Chairman of Executive Committee, The J. M. Smucker Company


Anthony J. F. O’Reilly, Chairman, H. J. Heinz Company


Byron E. Allumbaugh, Chairman of the Board, Ralphs Grocery Store

D. Wayne Calloway, Chairman of the Board, PepsiCo, Inc.


H. B. Atwater Jr., Chairman and CEO, General Mills, Inc.


(Award not given)


Donald R. Keough, Former President and CEO, The Coca-Cola Company


John G. Smale, Chairman and CEO, The Procter & Gamble Company


William E. LaMothe, Chairman Emeritus, Kellogg Company

Hamish Maxwell, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Phillip Morris Companies Inc.


Lyle Everingham, Chairman and CEO, The Kroger Co.


George W. Koch, President and CEO, Grocery Manufacturers of America


Albert Heijn, President and CEO, Ahold NV


David M. Silverburg, President and CEO, Wakefern Food Corporation


Donald Kendall, Former Chairman of the Executive Committee, PepsiCo, Inc.


R. Burt Gookin, Former President and CEO, H. J. Heinz Company


Jack J. Crocker, Chairman and CEO, SUPERVALU INC.


George W. Jenkins, Founder and Chairman, Publix Super Markets, Inc.

Leadership in Public Policy

2013 George W. Koch